Friday 13 September 2019

ALPSP Awards 2019 - winners announced

The winners of the 2019 ALPSP Awards were announced at the Conference Dinner on 12 September. Download the press release (pdf).

ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing

ALPSP Council was delighted to present this year’s award to Ann Michael.

photo Ann Michael

In her more than twenty years in scholarly communications, Ann has made a considerable impact on her colleagues, her peers, and the industry at large. She founded the strategic consultancy Delta Think in 2005, and through her leadership it has grown from a single consultant to an extended team working for over 115 clients. Ann is an ardent believer in data informed decision-making and was instrumental in the 2017 launch of Delta Think’s Open Access Data & Analytics Tool, which contributes greatly to industry education on OA trends, benchmarks, and funding mandates. Ann has recently transitioned to Chair of the Delta Think Board, and now serves as Chief Digital Officer for PLOS.

Perhaps most impressively given her extensive professional demands, Ann is a tireless volunteer and industry contributor. She is a Past President of SSP, a Board member for NFAIS, a Board Director at Joule,a frequent organizer and speaker at industry conferences (including ALPSP), a member of the Learned Publishing Editorial Board, and contributor to The Scholarly Kitchen. Moreover, she is a trusted mentor, confidant, and continued source of inspiration to others within the publishing community.

Previous winners of this prestigious ALPSP award may be found at

ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing  

The winner of the 2019 ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing is scite. is a platform to evaluate the reliability of scientific claims. Its deep learning models, combined with a network of experts, automatically extract and classify references to a scientific claim (citations) as supporting, contradicting, or mentioning. This information helps researchers, organizations, and the public to assess the veracity of published research and, consequently, researchers and institutions at unprecedented speed and scale.

David Sommer, Chair of the Judges noted: ‘Once again, the range of high quality submissions for these awards demonstrates the wealth of innovation and development in our industry.  Scite  is important because it addresses the key challenges of trust and reproducibility by offering the reader an easy way to understand the context of a piece of research, without adding to the workflow for the researcher.’

Also shortlisted were:

BMJ Best Practice from BMJ with 67 Bricks 
BMJ partnered with 67 Bricks to make their clinical information more flexible and deliver a flagship product that truly serves clinician needs.

preLights from the Company of Biologists
preLights is a community platform for preprint highlights - an early career team selects preprints of interest, provides relevant comment and engages authors in further discussion.

Ripeta automates the pre-peer review process by rapidly checking manuscripts for the reporting of essential information for reproducible research with minimal burden on scientists.


About the ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing

The ALPSP Awards serve to highlight and celebrate the creativity and development that abounds in our industry with new projects and tools to meet the needs of today’s researchers, authors and publishers. For 2019, the judges reviewed nearly forty applications from a wide range of organizations across all areas of scholarly publishing and communication (

This year’s finalists all took part in the Awards Lightning Session at the Conference.  Read the guest posts from the finalists on the ALPSP blog

The ALPSP awards are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project which is both innovative and of significant value to scholarly communication. The winners must demonstrate excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to the community, utility and long-term viability.

Panel of Judges for the Awards for Innovation in Publishing

David Sommer, Chief Product Officer and Co-founder, Kudos (Chair)
Andrew Barker, Director of Library Services and Learning Development, Lancaster University
Kivmars Bowling, Publications Director, SIAM
Cath Cotton, Knowledge and Innovation, IHE Delft
Lorraine Estelle, Project Director, COUNTER
Richard Gedye, Scholarly and Professional Publishing Consultant
Jane Harvell, Director of Library Services and University Librarian, University of Sussex
Robert Iannello, Sales and Marketing Manager, ARM Education Media
David Smith, Head of Product Solutions, The IET
Jo Wixon, Director, Portfolio Strategy, John Wiley and Sons.

The 2019 ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing are sponsored by Logo-MPS-GIF


For further information please contact Lesley Ogg (email)


There are no comments. Why not be the first?

Add your comment