ALPSP’s Council comprises the Directors, Ex-officio drawn from Chairs of Committees and Co-opted members. They have a range of skills and experience and provide strategic direction for the Secretariat while keeping member matters at the heart of what we do. The Council meets three times each year. 

Meeting dates in 2017

  • Friday 27 January† (2:00pm), BMA House, Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9JR
  • Thursday 18 May† (2:00 pm), BMA House, Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9JR
  • Tuesday 12 September† (2:00pm), prior to the ALPSP Conference, Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin, Noordwijk, the Netherlands 

† Council meeting is followed by a meeting of the Directors.


Chair Peter Ashman, BMJ*
Treasurer Peter Richardson, British Editorial Society of Bone and Joint Surgery*

Ordinary Members

Anthony Cond, Liverpool University Press*
Stephen Hawthorne, Royal Society of Chemistry*
Catherine Hill, British Ecological Society*
Alison Mudditt, University of California Press
Louise Page, Public Library of Science
Rita Scheman, American Physiological Society* 

Ex officio

Chair, North American Steering Committee & Vice Chair Priscilla Markwood, American Society for Investigative Pathology
Chair, ANZ Chapter & Vice Chair Andrew Stammer, CSIRO Publishing
Chair, Professional Development Committee Louise Russell, Tutton Russell Consulting
Chair, Training Committee Phil Hurst, Royal Society
Editor-in-Chief & Chair Editorial Board Pippa Smart, PSP Consulting


Vivian Berghahn, Berghahn Books
Melinda Kenneway, Kudos
David Thew, David Thew & Company Ltd


Audrey McCulloch, Chief Executive and Company Secretary, Secretary to Council

* Director