ALPSP Awards Past Winners

ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing

The ALPSP awards are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project which is both innovative and of significant value to scholarly communication. The winners must demonstrate excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to the community, utility and long-term viability.

Twitter #alpspawards

ALPSP Awards 2016

 Group photo of winners of 2016 ALPSP Awards

The winners of the 2016 ALPSP Awards were announced at the Conference Dinner on 15 September. Download the press release (pdf).  Watch the presentations by the finalists at the 2016 ALPSP Conference here.  Read their posts on the ALPSP Blog.

ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing

Photo of Alice Meadows receiving Award from Peter AshmanCouncil was delighted to present this year’s award to Alice Meadows.
As Director of Community Engagement and Support at ORCID, Alice has played a central role in expanding its presence with an endeavour that really bridges the divides between publishers and authors.  Prior to this, she held a long and distinguished career at Wiley including roles in marketing and circulation, Director of Society Relations and finally Director of Communications. She was a founding partner of the Oxford Publicity Partnership, which provided invaluable services to publishers in the Oxford area for just under a decade. Alice is a regular and spirited contributor to the Scholarly Kitchen and an active participant at any number of scholarly conferences – whether on a panel or tweeting key points from the audience. More recently she has been a vocal contributor to discussions of gender disparity in scholarly publishing through a series of talks and publications. Lastly, there is Alice the mentor. She has been an invaluable source of support, encouragement, and engagement for all those who have worked with (and especially for) her, many of whom have gone on to excel in their careers under her guidance. 

In summary, her contribution to scholarly publishing is two-fold – not just for the work she herself does to enhance important scholarly publishing initiatives and conversations, but also for coaching the next generation(s) of outstanding publishing individuals.

ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing  

The ALPSP Awards recognise and celebrate the best innovators in our industry at a time when scholarly publishing is changing rapidly.   They are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project within scholarly communication. The judges look for excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to the community, utility and long-term viability.  The panel considered an impressive and diverse range of submissions, from which they selected a shortlist of six.  These six made a presentation to the judges, following which the panel selected the eventual winners.  Posts from each of the finalists may be found on the ALPSP blog.  

For 2016, the judges are delighted to announce two winners - Cartoon Abstracts from Taylor & Francis and Wiley ChemPlanner.  It is interesting to note that this year’s winners are both traditional publishers with a rich heritage and hundreds of years of experience communicating research.  Both have been able to innovate and create new and exciting possibilities from within their businesses.

The judges awarded Highly Commended to ORCID which, in a relatively short space of time, has made massive strides to solve the problems of author identification and affiliation in research publishing.


cartoon abstracts coverCartoon Abstracts from Taylor & Francis are a fun new way of visualising academic research. Each individual cartoon summarises the original authors’ work through powerful illustration. This aids the understanding of difficult concepts, broadens the appeal of niche topics, and helps transcend language barriers. In the judges’ view, they have the potential to transform the way in which young people and the wider public engage with research publishing.


wileychemplannerWiley ChemPlanner combines state-of-the-art cheminformatics technology with high quality data to speed up the early stages of the drug creation process, potentially getting drugs to patients faster. ChemPlanner lowers the barrier for synthesizing new molecules, thus accelerating drug discovery. It also enables chemists to optimize synthetic routes, eliminating potentially harmful contaminating side products and reducing manufacturing costs.  The judges were impressed with the powerful functionality and potential of ChemPlanner.  It has a narrow but clearly defined target audience and is an exciting example of how publishing is changing to meet new markets.

Highly Commended

ORCID logo with taglineORCID’s vision is a world where all who participate in research, scholarship, and innovation are uniquely identified and connected to their contributions and affiliations across disciplines, borders, and time. It provides an identifier (an iD) for individuals, and open tools that enable transparent and trustworthy connections between researchers, their contributions and affiliations, in order to help people find information and to simplify reporting and analysis.

Also shortlisted were:

ALPSP Awards 2015

The winners of the 2015 ALPSP Awards were announced at the ALPSP Conference Dinner on Thursday 10 September 2015. Download and read the full report: ALPSP Awards 2015 Report

ALPSP Awards 2015 group shot

ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing 2015 was awarded to Michael Jubb

TMichael Jubb Awards 2015

2015 ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing winner Kudos

Kudos Awards Winners 2015

Highly Commended Awards for JSTOR Daily and Overleaf

JSTOR Daily 2015 Awards  Overleaf Awards 2015

For further information please contact Lesley Ogg (email; +44 (0)1245 260571)