Past Events

If you missed an ALPSP seminar and would like to catch-up on what was covered, access to the slides and audio recordings for previous events are available to members here.

You may access recordings of Member webinars here.

Thursday 04 February 2021

Progress on OA agreements with libraries and consortia

Free webinar for ALPSP members (Online: 09:00 - 10:30 EST; 14:00 15:30 GMT; 15:00 - 16:30 CET) more >

Tuesday 19 January 2021

Scholarly Publishing: Resilience as an opportunity for transformation

Free webinar for Members only. 09:00 - 10.30 EST (New York), 14:00 - 15:30 GMT (UK), 15:00 - 16.30 CET (Central Europe) more >

Thursday 17 December 2020

cOAlition S Rights Retention Strategy

Free webinar for ALPSP Members (Online: 09:00 - 10:30 EST New York; 14:30 - 15:30 GMT UK; 15:00 - 16:30 CET Central Europe) more >

Thursday 19 November 2020

Brexit and beyond – implications for publishers

Free webinar for ALPSP Members (Online, 09:00 - 10.30 EST (New York), 14:00 - 15:30 GMT (UK), 15:00 - 16.30 CET (Central Europe) more >

Thursday 08 October 2020

Plan S Price Transparency: publisher progress, customer prolepsis

Free webinar for ALPSP Members (Online, 09:00 - 10.30 EDT (New York), 14:00 - 15:30 BST (UK), 15:00 - 16.30 CEST (Central Europe) more >

Thursday 04 June 2020

New Research Assessment Policies in China

In this webinar, our speakers will review the changes and discuss how these may influence the publishing behaviour of Chinese academics and researchers within STM. more >

Thursday 21 May 2020

Redux Online - Money and Mission

Redux Online Webinar 2.10:00 EDT; 15:00 BST; 16:00 CEST more >

Wednesday 06 May 2020

Case Studies in Collaboration: the next wave of platform hosting initiatives

Series of 3 webinars. 6 May, 14 May & 19 May. Publishers and societies are rethinking approaches to platform development to better suit evolving business, community, and organization-specific needs. This webinar series highlights three such non-traditional initiatives and the collaborations that made them possible. more >

Thursday 23 April 2020

Monographs, open access and public policy: UKRI OA consultation 2020

Redux Online Webinar 1 10:00 EDT; 15:00 BST; 16:00 CEST more >

Tuesday 21 April 2020

The Metadata Power Hour - RECORDING AVAILABLE

Learn about the expanding opportunities to leverage scholarly metadata to deliver quickly on changing market needs. The intersection of publishing and metadata has never had a greater impact in reduced project costs, faster time-to-market, and higher content quality. Society publishers who master the power of metadata will benefit from knowing what data they have, its value, how it may be accessed, and the importance of data metrics. more >

Tuesday 25 February 2020

ALPSP Networking: Open Access and the Price Transparency Framework

Discussion and Networking evening for ALPSP Members with guest speakers Jean-Claude Burgelman and Alicia Wise. more >

Wednesday 27 November 2019

I Never Metadata I Didn't Like - RECORDINGS AVAILABLE

Everyone involved in scholarly communications touches metadata at some point, even if you don’t call it that. Behind every manuscript submission, every link on the web, every platform launch plan, and every analytics dashboard - lies metadata. more >

Tuesday 19 November 2019

ALPSP Networking: Transformative Agreements

A discussion and networking evening for ALPSP members on the experiences of publishers and consortia piloting transformative agreements, along with the views of society publishers who have chosen to partner with larger publishers. more >

Wednesday 13 November 2019

ALPSP UKSG Joint Event: Shifting Power Centres in Scholarly Communications: Implications and future roles for libraries and publishers

The pace of change in our sector has accelerated - and that change has also become more wide-reaching. We are moving beyond the “fall out” from the digital revolution – and its implications for user behaviors, customer expectations, product formats and business models – into a much bigger shift, where established roles and accepted models are being questioned. more >

Thursday 31 October 2019

The Rise of the RFP: How to embrace and get the most out of your RFP processes - RECORDINGS AVAILABLE

As the publishing landscape evolves, so too does the range of suppliers and partners with whom scholarly publishers need to work. RFPs are becomingly an increasingly important part of the activities of all publishers, large and small, and generally represent a significant investment which should be well managed. In this session we’ll examine the various ways in which sourcing decisions can be made, with views from both purchasers and vendor. The aim of the day will be to provide comprehensive, practical support to help attendees choose the right process, and the right partner, for their particular needs. more >