Events & Training

ALPSP Professional Development helps you to keep up-to-date on the skills and knowledge required to be successful in scholarly publishing. We do this through a series of ALPSP seminars, ALPSP webinarsALPSP training courses and the ALPSP Conference.

Member Discounts
ALPSP Members receive discounts on all registration fees - and additional discounts for early bird bookings.  Not an ALPSP member?  Click here to find out how your organization can join ALPSP

Webinar Recordings
If you have missed an ALPSP webinar and would like to catch up, you can register and pay for a recording to view at a time to suit you.  Please scroll down the page to see a list of webinars that are currently available to purchase.  Alternatively, please contact melissa.marshall@alpsp.org or sabia.morrison@alpsp.org

Upcoming Events
Browse a summary of forthcoming activity below and filter using the right hand menu. If you cannot find what you need, email Melissa Marshall or call +44 (0)1622 871035 for help and advice. Don't forget we offer in-house training for ALPSP member organizations. Email Amanda Whiting to discuss your requirements.  Download a list of forthcoming ALPSP events here.

2018

How to grow your Business in China: Sales and distribution Thursday 29 November Online Webinar Sales Book
Driving Usage, Demonstrating Value Wednesday 5 December  Online Webinar Sales Book

2019

ALPSP Networking: Plan S Wednesday 30 January London Seminar   Book
Series webinar 1 of 3: What is Hype and What Has Value? Technological buzzword or industry innovation? (Open Source Technologies) Tuesday 5 February Online Webinar   Book
Creating an Inclusive Culture Wednesday 13 February London Training   Book
Journal Development 1: Practical plans for improving journal success Wednesday 6 March London Training Editorial Book
Series webinar 2 of 3: What is Hype and What Has Value? Technological buzzword or industry innovation? (AI) Thursday 7 March Online Webinar   Book
Publication Ethics: Fraud and misconduct Wednesday 20 March London Training Editorial Book
Online Journal Discovery and Delivery: Working with libraries and industry intermediaries to maximise readership - NEW to NA Tuesday 26 March New York Training   Book
Introduction to Journals Publishing Wednesday 27 March London Training Editorial Book
Online Journal Discovery and Delivery: Working with libraries and industry intermediaries to maximise readership - NEW to NA Thursday 28 March Washington DC Training   Book
Series webinar 3 of 3: What is Hype and What Has Value? Technological buzzword or industry innovation? (Blockchain) Tuesday 2 April Online Webinar   Book
Effective Journal Editorial Management Wednesday 3 April London Training Editorial Book
Growing Successful Open Access Journals Wednesday 8 May London Training Editorial Book
Project Management for Publishing Friday 17 May London Training Editorial Book
Introduction to Journals Marketing Wednesday 22 May London Training Editorial Book
Journal Financial Strategy for Non-Financial Managers Thursday 20 June London Training Business & Finance Book
Journal Metric Analysis and Measuring Impact. Online Training (2 sessions) Wednesday 3 July Online Training Business & Finance Book
Managing and Influencing your Editorial Board Thursday 4 July London Training Editorial Book
Effective Journals Marketing Wednesday 17 July London Training Editorial Book
Effective Social Media for Scholarly Publishers Tuesday 17 September London Training Marketing Book
Introduction to Sales Management in Scholarly Publishing: Selling to libraries, academics and institutions Tuesday 24 September London Training Sales Book
Online Journal Discovery and Delivery: Working with libraries and industry intermediaries to maximise readership Thursday 26 September London Training General Book
Commissioning Content: Working effectively with authors and editors Wednesday 2 October London Training Editorial Book
How Journals Work: A complete introduction, Online Training (2 sessions) Wednesday 9 October Online Training Editorial Book
An Introduction to Agile Project Management for Publishing Wednesday 13 November London Training Editorial Book
Understanding Copyright, Online Training Wednesday 20 November Online Training Legal Book
Advanced Journal Development: Strategic development for journal managers Wednesday 27 November London Training Editorial Book


How to Purchase a Webinar Recording
Our webinars are all available as  recordings.  Please contact melissa.marshall@alpsp.org or sabia.morrison@alpsp.org if you would like to purchase one or more of these.

In-house Training
ALPSP also runs training on the following topics - please contact Melissa Marshall to find out more

  • Introduction to People Management for Publishing
  • Licensing your Content
  • Disruption, Innovation and Creativity: How to generate and implement new ideas in scholarly publishing
  • Managing Quality from Outsourced Services
  • How to make Content more Discoverable through SEO
  • Fundamentals of Finance for Publishers