ALPSP monitors issues and identifies priorities for activity through the work of our Committees. Anyone working at a member organization is eligible to serve as a volunteer, subject to vacancies. Interested in getting involved? Please use our volunteers form to outline your preferences. We have early careers publishers on all committees now.  Any questions? Contact Amanda Whiting

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee is made up of individuals from a variety of different societies and publishers, whose day to day work involves policy, rights and copyright related issues around the globe. We have meetings approximately every 3 months and keep in regular contact in between those meetings, as and when new areas of interest arise. We work collaboratively together on responses to consultations, have set up and attended meetings with organisations such as cOAlition S and write regularly for the ALPSP Policy Bulletin.

Leslie Lansman (Chair)    Springer Nature
Matthew Bailey Royal Society of Chemistry
Rachel Bradley Penningtons Manches Cooper
Nadine Buckland University of the West Indies Press
Duncan Campbell (Vice-Chair) Wiley
Will Crook Publishers' Licensing Services
Emilie David AAAS / Science
Victoria Eva Elsevier
Sarah Faulder Publishers' Licensing Services
Zoey Forbes Harbottle & Lewis LLP
Sarah Fricker  IOP Publishing
Julie Halfacre BMJ
Alex Hardy CSIRO
Phillip Kalantzis-Cope Common Ground Research Networks
Arend Küster Springer Nature
Kelly Rogers Johns Hopkins University Press
Ola Tornkvist London Mathematical Society
Laura Wilson Taylor & Francis Group
Sherri Young IEEE (early careers rep)
Wayne Sime ALPSP
Lesley Ogg (Secretary) ALPSP

Membership and Marketing Committee

ALPSP Membership and Marketing Committee brings together industry professionals to develop and progress the membership and marketing strategy for ALPSP. Interactive and fun sessions provoke shared discussion and learning towards the common goal of defining ALPSP's value proposition and strategy to implement. The committee meets every six weeks and has several working groups running at one time to address specific objectives. These working groups are both short and long term so dependent on the level of time available, each committee member can make a valuable contribution.

Lou Peck (Chair) The International Bunch
Hannah Baldwin Royal Society of Chemistry
Kathryn Banham British Pharmacological Society
Amanda Bartell Crossref
Erinn Brigham OUP (NA)
Lori Carlin Delta Think
Emily Davies Wiley (early careers rep)
Lyndsey Dixon De Gruyter
Fred Fenter Frontiers
Juliet Harrison F1000 
Simon Holt Elsevier
Dawn Melley IEEE
Claire Moulton The Company of Biologists
Aimee Nixon De Gruyter
Godwyns Onwuchekwa eLife Sciences
Sara Purdy The British Institute of Radiology
Nancy Roberts Copyright Clearance Center
Jo Wixon (Vice-Chair) Wiley
Wayne Sime ALPSP
Jo Hutchinson (Secretary) ALPSP
Amanda Whiting ALPSP

Education Committee

The Education Committee is responsible for organizing seminars and webinars. Due to COVID-19, ALPSP is currently not holding any on-site seminars, while the attendance at webinars has been made free of charge for members. If you have suggestions for topics, please let us know via

Georgie Field (Chair) PLOS
Joe Adams Morressier
Sophia Anderton BJU International
Michelle Bandeira 67 Bricks
Fiona McKenzie Springer Nature
Lorna Mein Wiley
Robyn Mugridge Frontiers
Heather Onorati Case Western Reserve University
Casey Pickering Copyright Clearance Center
Casey Schwartz IEEE
Ravi Venkataramani kriyadocs
Sheridan Willis F1000 Research (early careers rep)
Lesley Ogg (Secretary)                    ALPSP
Susie Brown ALPSP

Training Committee

The Training Committee is responsible for organizing ALPSP’s programme of training courses, which are open to both ALPSP members and non-members (members benefit from discounted fees). The courses are currently all available online. See our 2021 programme here. We continuously review the topics that are covered in our training courses, and welcome suggestions for new courses -  email: if you have suggestions. 

Jamie Humphrey (Chair) Royal Society of Chemistry
Shehnaz Ahmed British Association of Dermatologists
Jessica Alexander Elsevier
Jeremy Brinton Glassboxx
Jean Dawson Charlesworth Group
Phil Garner Becaris Publishing Ltd
Sarah Gibbs Geological Society
Mandeep Kundi BMJ
Helena King Royal Irish Academy
Charlotte Mason Edinburgh University Press
Jon Newbury UCL (and IET)
Sarah Ritchie Wiley (early careers rep)
Anthony Watkinson CIBER Research
Jo Hutchinson ALPSP
Melissa Marshall (Secretary) ALPSP
Amanda Whiting ALPSP

ALPSP is pleased to be represented on the following industry initiatives

C4Disc Heather Staines Deltathink
  Margherita Zorzetto BMJ
Joint Committee on Legal Deposit (JCLD) Duncan Campbell Wiley
SDG Publishers Compact Allison Lang BMJ
Think. Check. Submit Suzanne Abbott London Mathematical Society
Niso TRANSFER committee (and co-Chair) Sophia Anderton BJUI