ALPSP Awards

ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing

 Awards16 image

ALPSP Council was delighted to present this year’s award to Richard Fisher.

Richard studied history at Oxford University and worked in London before joining Cambridge University Press in 1983. He was for many years a commissioning editor in history and politics at CUP, and then took on a sequence of managerial roles culminating in his appointment as Managing Director, Academic Publishing: he stepped down as MD and left CUP at the end of 2014. He is now Deputy Chairman of Yale University Press, a non-executive board member of Edinburgh University Press, and a member of the advisory board of Berghahn Books.

Although Richard’s long and distinguished career at CUP more than merits this award, it is his post-retirement work that deserves especial recognition. Richard has advised a number of high profile groups looking at the future of our industry and is also a regular speaker at industry events. Richard has been one of few senior voices inside publishing to champion the book and the humanities in national policy debates too often driven solely by STEM. Last but not least, he is an invaluable source of generous and sage advice both formally and informally to others within the publishing community.

ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing 2018

The Winner

The winner of the 2018 ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing is Code Ocean.

Code Ocean is a cloud-based computational reproducibility platform that provides researchers with an easy way to share, discover and run code published in academic journals and conferences.

More and more of today’s research includes software code, statistical analysis and algorithms that are not included in traditional publishing. The code, analysis and/or algorithms is often essential to reproducing the research results and reusing them in new products or research. The overhead and challenge to getting access to, understanding how and reproducing the work creates a major roadblock for researchers, one that inspired the creation of Code Ocean. The Code Ocean platform allows researchers not only to deposit their code but all other dependencies in order for their scientific software code to run. Using container technologies, code execution is agnostic to programming languages, versions and/or operating system. The resulting compute capsule can then be embedded in a widget accessible within the scholarly content.

David Sommer, Chair of the Judges noted:

‘We were very pleased with both the number, and the high standard of entries received this year. They showcase an array of innovative solutions that touch on several different aspects of the research cycle including reproducibility, discoverability, integration, ethics and standards. Code Ocean stood out as shining example of a robust, well-executed, transformational solution to a real challenge for researchers, allowing them to build on the work of others more efficiently and therefore help to accelerate research.’

The finalists were showcased at the ALPSP Conference and the winner announced at the Awards Dinner on Thursday 13 September. The ALPSP Awards recognise and celebrate the best innovators in our industry at a time when scholarly publishing is changing rapidly.

We received more than 40 submissions for this year's Awards for Innovation in Publishing - read more on our conference website here .

The ALPSP awards are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project which is both innovative and of significant value to scholarly communication. The winners must demonstrate excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to the community, utility and long-term viability.

Twitter #alpspawards

Panel of judges

David SommerProduct Director & Co-founder, Kudos (Chair)
Andrew BarkerAssociate Director, Library Services, Liverpool John Moores University
Kivmars BowlingPublications Director, SIAM
Astrid EngelenBusiness Strategist, IOS Press
Lorraine EstelleProject Director, COUNTER
Richard GedyeDirector of Outreach Programmes, STM
Pam HarleySenior Consultant, Clarke & Esposito
Jane HarvellDirector of Library Services and University Librarian, University of Sussex
Robert IannelloSales and Marketing Manager, ARM Education Media 
David SmithHead of Product Solutions, The IET

For further information please contact Lesley Ogg (email; +44 (0)1245 260571)

The 2018 ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing are sponsored by 

Logo-MPS-GIF MPS Limited is a leading provider of platforms and services for content development, production, and distribution. Over the 47 years of its dominant presence, MPS has established itself as a global leader in this space, collaborating with the world's leading publishers, platforms, and digital learning companies. Operating from multiple locations in India and the USA, MPS offers services across the author-to-reader value chain, with proficiency in integrating subject matter expertise with digital learning. For more information, visit us at