ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing 2014

Celebrating the best in the industry

Closing date for applications: 4 June 2014

Download brochure (pdf)

The world of scholarly publishing continues to change rapidly, both in terms of technology and market behaviour. New challenges offer new opportunities and we have seen some incredible advances in recent years which have changed the face of the industry. The ALPSP Awards seek to recognise some of the best innovators in our industry.

For 2014, ALPSP has therefore created a single category ‘Innovation in Publishing’.  We want our Awards to evolve with the fast changing publishing landscape and as such we are allowing our panel of judges the flexibility to make one or more awards, depending on the submissions they receive.

The finalists will be given the opportunity to showcase their applications at the ALPSP International Conference. The winners will be announced at the Conference Awards Dinner on Thursday 11 September.

The Awards are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project which is both innovative and of significant value to scholarly communication. To win, it must demonstrate excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to its community, utility and long-term viability.

Your submission can be anything from a new tool or service for researchers; a new resource, journal, book or other form of publication; a new workflow or process; to technological innovation. It can relate to any part of the scholarly and academic publishing industry but the application must define clearly the benefit and advances it represents in its sector.

How to apply

Panel of Judges
David Sommer, Director, David Sommer Consulting (Chair)
Andrew Barker, Head of Academic Liaison, Special Collections & Archives, University of Liverpool Library
Tim Devenport, Lead Consultant, Serials & Subscriptions Standards, EDItEUR
Richard Gedye, Director of Outreach Programmes, STM
Hugh Look, Jisc Collections
David Smith, Head of Product Solutions, The IET

The 2014 ALPSP Awards are sponsored by

Publishing Technology Logo

ALPSP Awards 2013

ALPSP Awards 2012

ALPSP Awards 2011 

ALPSP Awards 2010

ALPSP Awards 2009 

Further information: contact Lesley Ogg +44(0)1245 260571;

ALPSP International Conference 11-13 September 2014

<< Back