ALPSP announces Winners of the 2012 Awards

The Winners of the 2012 Awards were announced at the ALPSP International Conference Dinner held at the Belfry on Wednesday 12 September (  Press Release (pdf).

Group photo of ALPSP Awards 2012 Winners

(L-R:  Ed Pentz, Rachel Lammey & Geoff Bilder, CrossRef; Tim Holmes, CABI; Hazel Woodward, Information Power (Chair Awards Panel); Audrey McCulloch, ALPSP CEO; Ros Pyne, Palgrave Macmillan; Catherine Hill, British Ecological Society; Janne-Tuomas Seppänen, Janne S Kotiaho, Peerage of Science)

ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing 2012
The Council of ALPSP was delighted to make this award to CrossRef, the independent not-for-profit organisation set up and run by publishers to facilitate the linking between scholarly publications using the Digital Object Identifier. Launched in 2000, this system grew rapidly to hold 3 million DOIs in just a year and now holds metadata for 55.5 million conference proceeding articles, book chapters and journal articles right back to the first articles published in Philosophical Transactions in 1665. With over 4,000 participating publishers, Crossref’s reach is international and it is very well regarded not just amongst publishers, but also the literary community and researchers. CrossRef has built on this unique position to offer other services such as CrossRef Cited by Linking, CrossCheck, CrossMark and the latest project, FundRef. CrossRef’s services provide solutions that are best done collectively by the industry to improve scholarly communications.

Photo of CrossRef receiving ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing 2012

(L-R: Audrey McCulloch, ALPSP CEO with Ed Pentz, Geoff Bilder & Rachel Lammey of CrossRef) 

ALPSP Award for Best New Journal 2012
The winner was postmedieval: a journal of medieval cultural studies from Palgrave Macmillan. postmedieval is a cross disciplinary journal in medieval studies that brings the modern and medieval into productive critical relation. The journal is distinctive both in its design and approach and demonstrates a passion for the subject, a commitment to quality and strong links with the community.
Palgrave Macmillan press release

Photo of Hazel Woodward presenting ALPSP Award for Best New Journal 2012 to Ros Pyne for postmedieval

(Hazel Woodward and Ros Pyne, Palgrave Macmillan)

A Highly Commended Certificate was awarded to Methods in Ecology and Evolution from the British Ecological Society and Wiley-Blackwell. The journal promotes the development of new methods in ecology and evolution and facilitates their dissemination and uptake. Interactive features such as the methods blog, podcasts and encouraging online enhancements to papers are used to increase the journal’s value and standing.

Photo of Hazel Woodward presenting Best New Journal Highly Commended certificate to Catherine Hill for Methods in Ecology and Evolution.

(Hazel Woodward and Catherine Hill, British Ecological Society) 

Also shortlisted were: Cancer Discovery from the American Association for Cancer Research; and Physical Review X (PRX) from the American Physical Society

ALPSP Award for Publishing Innovation 2012
The winner was Peerage of Science web service a web based peer review and submission system which sets the article rather than the journal as the starting point. Launched in November 20-11, it allows the author to control the pace of the process, and has potential benefits for libraries as well as authors and reviewers.

Photo of Hazel Woodward presenting ALPSP Award for Publishing Innovation 2012 to Janne S Kotiaho and Janne-Tuomas Seppänen for Peerage of Science.

(L-R: Janne S Kotiaho, Peerage of Science; Hazel Woodward; Janne-Tuomas Seppänen, Peerage of Science)

Plantwise Knowledge Bank by CABI received a Highly Commended Certificate.  It's approach to geospatially indexing published content and field observations connects farmers to reliable and appropriate plant health information wherever they may be.  The resource is intuitive and disarmingly simple with clear practical benefits.

Photo of Hazel Woodward presenting Publishing Innovation Highly Commended Certificate to Tim Holmes for Plantwise Knowledge Bank.

(Hazel Woodward and Tim Holmes, CABI)

Also shortlisted was: ACP Journalwise from the American College of Physicians.

About the ALPSP Awards

ALPSP Award for BEST NEW JOURNAL - open to any peer-reviewed journal launched in the last 1-3 years. The judges consider the main aspects of the journal including its launch: market research, editorial strategy, marketing and commercial success.

ALPSP Award for PUBLISHING INNOVATION - in recognition of a truly innovative approach to any aspect of publication. Applications are judged on their originality and innovative qualities, together with their utility, benefit to their community and long term prospects.

Panel of Judges for the Best New Journal and Publishing Innovation Awards

Hazel Woodward, Director, Information Power (Chair)
Tim Devenport, Lead Consultant to ICEDIS, EDItEUR
Richard Gedye, Director of Outreach Programmes, STM
Hugh Look, Futureglance
David Smith, Business Innovations Manager, CABI
Jill Taylor-Roe, Head of Planning & Resources & Deputy Librarian, Newcastle University

(ALPSP Awards 2011)